Put the eggplant flesh in a bowl, mash it with a fork to an almost smooth consistency, add olive oil, lemon juice, garlic and salt to taste. Top with spices, herbs, pistachios, and pomegranate arils. Molly is a feminist gemini vegetarian librarian living in southern California. Keywords: Labneh, Labneh Cheese, Strained Yogurt, Labneh Dip, Pomegranate, Party Dip Recipes, Party Appetizers, Vegetarian, Healthy, Tag @acouplecooks on Instagram and hashtag it #acouplecooks. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it. Vigorous debate and reasoned critique are welcome; name-calling and personal invective are not and will be deleted. We’re Sonja and Alex Overhiser, the recipe developers and cookbook authors behind this website. As you work, the pomegranate seeds will sink to the bottom, while the white pith from the fruit will float to the top. Steam eggplant as directed in the eggplant and yogurt soup above. Labneh with Pistachio and Pomegranate. While we generally do not seek to edit or actively moderate comments, our spam filter prevents most links and certain key words from being posted and the Forward reserves the right to remove comments for any reason. He’s host of the food podcast Small Bites and founder of the recipe website A Couple Cooks. Featured on the Today Show and Washington Post, Happy Hour Platter with Caramelized Onion Dip, Baked Goat Cheese with Fire Roasted Tomatoes, Roasted Tomato Almond Dip with Grilled Bread. Hi, I'm Molly — an avid reader who loves recommending books (it's my job!). Wow this looks gorgeous. Add all topping ingredients and drizzle over the molasses and olive oil. 1 large eggplant 4 tablespoons olive oil plus more for drizzling juice of ½ lemon 1 garlic clove, minced Kosher salt to taste 1½ cups Labneh 2 tablespoons pomegranate molasses Pita chips or veggies for serving. Sonja and Alex Overhiser are writer and photographer behind A Couple Cooks and authors of Pretty Simple Cooking, named one of the best vegetarian cookbooks and best healthy cookbooks. 1. We’d love to hear how it turned out. @2019 - All Right Reserved. It sounds deceptively simple, but the sweet pomegranate against the savory creamy labneh cheese and the fruity olive oil makes for a super delicious party dip recipe. The original recipe uses anise seeds, but I skipped these this time. This labneh dip with pomegrante recipe is sponsored by California Olive Ranch. Making labneh is actually pretty simple. We actually did just that, with a big charcuterie board and my favorite greek salad with mint dressing, for our Christmas Even lunch. If you want to make your own labneh I have a recipe for it right here! This Balsamic Pomegranate Labneh Dip is a simple sugar free appetiser that’s so easy to make! Like with pies, I prefer yogurt in a savory dish rather than a sweet one. and another one with goat yogurt (nice and tangy) and both versions were amazing. Learn how your comment data is processed. Copyright ©2020The Forward Association, Inc.All rights reserved. Transfer the labneh into a bowl and drizzle on some olive oil, sumac and pomegranate seeds and enjoy. pomegranate molasses and good olive oil, to drizzle. Thickening the yogurt overnight … It has a beautiful patio with big, round tables with fire pits in their centers. 4 cups (1 liter) good quality yoghurt (not low-fat!) Drizzling the labne with pomegranate molasses also adds a lovely sweet and sour accent. This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Simple entertaining ideas and party dip recipes are always at the top of our list during the holidays; we’d love to hear your ideas! Put greek yogurt in the sieve, lemon juice and a pinch of salt, place in bowl, wrap in plastic wrap, place in refrigerator, and let drain 24 hours. Whole milk yogurt works best for this labneh recipe since it’s thicker than nonfat yogurt and has a lot more flavor. This labneh dip with pistachios looks fancy, but is simple to prepare. This labneh (or labne) is a crazy delicious yogurt dip that’s just perfect for summery evenings outside. Thickening the yogurt overnight makes it creamier and even more tangy. For more stories, go to Haaretz.com or to subscribe to Haaretz, click here and use the following promotional code for Forward readers: FWD13. 6 Modern Books for Fans of Pride and Prejudice, New Lush & Atmospheric Fantasy Young Adult Novels, Crossovers: Adult Fantasy Books for YA Readers, Gin and St Germain Cocktail with Rosemary and Citrus, Books for Fans of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. Serve with toasted pita bread. Sonja Overhiser is author of Pretty Simple Cooking, named one of the best healthy cookbooks of 2018. ½ pomegranate, only the seeds © 2020 CAROLINA GELEN - All Rights Reserved, THANKSGIVING MUSHROOM ROAST, just in time for a ve, LET’S COOK TOGETHER - ZOOM COOKING CLASSES Spoon 1 tablespoon of labneh on top of each tomato. Spoon eggplant in the center and gently mix it with labneh, only half way, leaving some unmixed labneh. Prior to serving, seed the pomegranate: Cut the pomegranate in quarters and place them in a large bowl of water. ** INSTANT POT RECIPE BINDER** Get your Instant Pot Recipe Binder to keep all your recipes and tips organized in one place. I did add some olive oil though, because the Arabian-Mediterranean kitchen likes to use lots of it and I can only agree. (Haaretz) — Dip with labneh (sour yogurt cheese) and pomegranate molasses. https://forward.com/food/204713/eggplant-labneh-and-pomegranate-dip Featured from the TODAY Show to Bon Appetit, Alex is author of Pretty Simple Cooking, named one of the best vegetarian cookbooks by Epicurious.